GOLD medal-winning athletes, philanthropists, and a renowned engineer are among 11 influential figures to receive prestigious accolades from the University of Chichester this year.

Saskia Hannah Nick
Emma Clive Tanika
Liz Ruth Benita
Greg Harry




From 2015 the University has awarded honorary doctorates to coincide with the conferment of Research Degree Awarding Powers (RDAP) by the Privy Council.

From 2000 we have awarded honorary degrees up to and including Master of Arts, Education and Science and Fellowships.

Prior to this awards were made through the Honorary Degrees Committee of the University of Southampton.

Philip Robinson First Vice-Chancellor of the University Honorary Doctor of the University                
Vic Goddard Principal of Passmores Academy (featured in Channel 4's 'Educating Essex') Honorary Doctor of Education
Shobana Jeyasingh Leading International Choreographer

Honorary Doctor of Arts

Kari Fasting

International Leader on the Women and Sport Movement 

Honorary Doctor of Science
Michael Morpurgo OBE and Clare Morpurgo MBE Contribution to children's literature and founders of Farms for Children Honorary Fellowship
Alexandra Danson Hockey player, Olympic bronze medal winner, London 2012 Honorary MSc
Jonathan Veira Internationally renowned baritone                                    Honorary MA
Nick Warburton Novelist and script writer for stage, television and radio   Honorary Fellowship
Julie Hesmondhalgh Actor and campaigner for LGBT issues                             Honorary MA
The Duchess of Richmond and Gordon Philanthropist and President of the Chichester Branch of the NSPCC Honorary Fellowship
Saskia Clark and Hannah Mills Top British 470 Women’s Team (World Title 2012) and success in 2012 London Olympics Honorary MSc
Yvette Baker, Katie Clark, Katrina Dawkins, Olivia Federici, Jennifer Knobbs, Victoria Lucass, Asha Randall, Jenna Randall and Katherine Skelton The first Great British Synchronised Swimming Team to perform in the Olympic Games. Honorary MSc
Biz Price National Performance Director of the Great British Synchronised Swimming Team Honorary MSc
Loredana Montico National Coach of the Great British Synchronised Swimming Team Honorary MSc
Phil Packer MBE Fundraiser for Sports Relief, Help for Heroes, and founder of BRIT the British Inspirational Trust to support young people facing adversity Honorary MA Education
Dr Anita White OBE International leader in the women and sport movement Honorary Fellowship
Hilary Bevan Jones Television and film producer and former Chair of BAFTA Honorary MA
David Maidment OBE Founder of the Railway Children charity Honorary MA Education
Emilian Dascal Head of Strings at the St Gallen Conservatoire and Artistic Director of The European Strings Honorary Fellowship
Professor Jo Shapcot President of the Poetry Society, Winner of the Poetry Category in the Costa Book Award
Honorary Fellowship
Talan Skeels-Piggins University of Chichester Alumnus, Paralympian and European Champion in the Super G and founder of The Motorbike Experience charity Honorary MA Education





 Andrew Brown

Founder, London Metropolitan Orchestra Honorary MA

 Dame Gillian Pugh

Children’s Charity and Adviser to House of Commons Select Committee on children, schools and families Honorary Fellowship

 Professor Celia Brackenridge

Former international athlete and work in child protection in sport Honorary Fellowship





 Wayne Hemmingway MBE

Designer Honorary Fellowship

 Sir Ronald Harwood CBE

Playwright Honorary Fellowship

 The Earl of March and Kinrara

Business Services Honorary Fellowship

 Sir Jim Rose CBE, FRSA

Leading educationalist Honorary Fellowship

 Stephen Park OBE

Olympic Sailing Team Manager Honorary MSc

 Sarah Ayton OBE

Yngling Gold Medallist Honorary MSc

 Sarah Webb OBE

Yngling Gold Medallist Honorary MSc

 Pippa Wilson MBE

Yngling Gold Medallist Honorary MSc





 David Suchet CBE

Actor Honorary Fellowship

 Richard Woodhall

Boxer, broadcaster and presenter Honorary MSc

 Margaret Talbot OBE (d)

Chief Executive of the Association of Physical Education Honorary Fellowship

 Diana Levantine and Kate Shaw MBA

Chairmen and Co-founders of the Sussex Snowdrop Trust Honorary MA

 Hugh R Wyatt

Former Lord Lieutenant of West Sussex Honorary Fellowship





 Simon Brett

Crime writer and playwright Honorary MA

 David Hopkinson DL

Supporter of the Arts in Chichester Honorary Fellowship

 Dr John Jarvis

Chair of Planning for Economic Partnership and Business Honorary Fellowship

 Professor Jay Coakley

Emeritus Professor, University of Colorado, USA Honorary Fellowship

 Joacuin Carlos Dizy Hernandez

Environmental Education Honorary MA





Kate Mosse OBE

Author, journalist and broadcaster Honorary MA

Margaret Johnson DL

Chairman, West Sussex County Council Honorary MA

Jenny Bulled

Headteacher, Henry Cort Community College Honorary MA Education

Dr David Rudkin

Director, Fishbourne Roman Palace  Honorary MA





Dr Colin White

Local historian. Deputy Curator of the Royal Naval Museum and Director of Trafalgar 200 Honorary MA

Professor Malcolm Payne

Contribution to community work and mental health and to the Probation Service Honorary Fellowship

Professor David Candy

Eminent scientist in the field of children's health and nutrition  Honorary Fellowship

Lindsey Fraser

Former British diver and Olympic Diving Team Manager Honorary MSc

Peter Waterfield and Leon Taylor

Olympic silver medallists for 10m Synchro, Athens Honorary MSc

David Wood OBE

Author of children's books, plays and screenplays. Former pupil of Chichester High School for Boys Honorary MA





Phil Jackson CVO

Sculptor Honorary MA 

Margaret Bamford OBE

Charity work with children in Belarus / Chair of Surrey and Sussex PQ Consortium for Social Work Honorary MA

Sir Michael Marshall (d)

Former UCC Trustee / Chairman of the Chichester Festival Theatre Trust Honorary Fellow

John Shippam

Chair of Governors of St Anthony's School, Chichester Honorary MA Education

Livia Caprara

Friends of Chichester Association in Ravenna, Italy Honorary MA





Richard Alston

Choreographer Honorary MA

Roger Gibson

Chichester Film Society Honorary MA

James Brathwaite

Chief Executive, SEEDA Honorary Fellow

Dale Rooks

Special Needs teacher at Stedham Honorary MA

Alan Kaye

Former CE/Director of Education, Isle of Wight Honorary Fellow





Stefan Van Raay

Honorary Curator, Pallant House Gallery Honorary MA

Andrew Welch

Director, Chichester Festival Theatre Honorary MA

Professor Dennis Marsden (d)

Sociologist Honorary Fellow

Sir Ben Ainslie CBE

Olympic Gold Medallist, yachting Honorary MSc

Adrienne Quarmby

Special Needs Teacher in mathematics - Isle of Wight Honorary MA

Dr John Mason

South Downs Planetarium Trust Honorary MSc





John Derbyshire

Olympic Coach for Yachting Honorary MSc

Iain Percy MBE

Olympic gold medallist, yachting Honorary MSc

Shirley Robertson OBE

Olympic gold medallist, yachting Honorary MSc

Ian Irwin

National Coach of Amateur Boxing Association Honorary MSc

Patricia Routledge CBE

Actor Honorary MA

Dr Alan Hayes CBE

Former Chairman of Governors Honorary Fellowship

The Rt Revd Dr Eric Kemp (d)

Former Lord Bishop of Chichester Honorary Fellowship

Peter Keen

British Cycling Federation Honorary MSc

University of Chichester, College Lane, Chichester, West Sussex, PO19 6PE

Telephone +44 (0) 1243 812175 or +44 (0) 1243 812171 | Email alumni@chi.ac.uk

Privacy | Contact Us | Freedom of Information | Disclaimer

Facebook Instagram Linkedin Twitter